Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Important Announcement:
  • Creditboards is now accepting applications for our moderating team.
  • Our Military Forum is open for our members of the military and their unique challenges.
  • Thinking about Credit Counseling/Debt Management Plan? Check out our new forum.
  • If you're getting an Authentication mismatch error: Clear your cache. Log out of CB. Delete your cookie. Close your browser. Open your browser and log back in.
  • AOL users: In order to post you will need to use Internet Explorer 6.0 (or higher) or Firefox 2.0 (or higher). You cannot utilize all features of this board using the AOL browser.
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Completed rehab and just received a letter from DOE
penone
post May 23 2009, 08:10 PM
Post #1


Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 24-December 08
Member No.: 87,858



I completed rehab last month and was waiting for GC Services to let me know who picked up the rest of my loan. Today I got a letter in the mail from the DOE servicing center advising me that my next payment was due the middle of June for my FSL (assume that means Federal Stafford Loan). I am a bit confused though and hope someone can clarify a couple of things:

1. I thought a bank or a third party was going to contact me to set up payment arrangements? Is there a reason why I would be working directly with the DOE?

2. One of my hopes was that once I rehabbed and started paying a lender it would create a positive trade line on my credit report. Is this still going to happen? (the defaulted loan hasn't shown up on my reports for years.)

3. The letter directs me to visit a website at www.ed-servicing.com. I always thought that any gov't website ended in .gov? One of main concerns is that this is some sort of scam.(I'm a bit paranoid about identity theft and being scammed.)

Thanks for any input.

Paul
 
    +  Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
Googie
post May 23 2009, 08:10 PM
Post #
The MoneyMaker

Group: Accounting
Posts: One in Every Topic
Joined: 1-February 03
From: Mountain Home, CA Member No.: 1





 
      Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
Feech
post May 24 2009, 04:31 PM
Post #2


Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 23-February 09
Member No.: 91,010



I think whats happening in alot of cases is that the DOE is taking over these loans. Right now there are no lenders available with the economy the way it is.

Congrats on completing the Rehab.
 
    +  Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
atrick
post Jun 6 2009, 09:02 PM
Post #3


Group: Newbies
Posts: 1
Joined: 6-June 09
Member No.: 95,443



QUOTE (penone @ May 23 2009, 08:10 PM) *
3. The letter directs me to visit a website at www.ed-servicing.com. I always thought that any gov't website ended in .gov? One of main concerns is that this is some sort of scam.(I'm a bit paranoid about identity theft and being scammed.)

My daughter got an email asking her to go to the ed-servicing.com site to confirm her email address. I feel the same way Paul did and am not sure what to tell my daughter in response to her question about whether or not this email was spam.

The email looks well-constructed (spam often has typos and there are hints it's bogus), so it's probably legit. But there is no .GOV in the email or website it links to, and nothing that says it's from an official government agency.

So if ed-servicing.com is for real, I wish the gov't was more explicit about who's behind it. It says that Department of Education Student Loan Servicing is asking for the information from my daughter. But unless someone can confirm it really is OK, I'm reluctant to tell my daughter to go ahead and give them the information sought. I've seen too many emails from companies purporting to be the real thing (eBay, etc.).

Can anyone out there shed any light on this for us?

Thanks!
 
    +  Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
lotun
post Jun 7 2009, 11:11 PM
Post #4


Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 26-October 06
Member No.: 40,024



Their Verisign certificate shows they are actually ACS Education Services. This company appears to be used by many others as a payment handler/processor for student loans.


They look more legit, even using 128 bit encryption for all transactions. Wachovia is using them for their student loans.

just my 2 cents.


k.
 
    +  Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
penone
post Jun 15 2009, 02:11 PM
Post #5


Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 24-December 08
Member No.: 87,858



Hey Atrick.

FYI - the website is legit. Looks a bit cheesy but it'll take your money and get it to the right people.


On another note - today on all 3 of my credit reports the positive trade lines showed up so that is a big plus!!!! It shows a start date of 1989 so that adds a 20 year trade line. Helps a great deal with my "thin file".

-P.


IPB

 
    +  Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 05:38 AM