Welcome to CreditBoards!

Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to CreditBoards! Like most online communities, you must register to post in our community, but don't worry - this is a simple process requiring minimal information for you to sign up. Be a part of CreditBoards by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.

Guest Message by DevFuse

Read These Items!

• If you're getting an Authentication mismatch error: Clear your cache. Log out of CB. Delete your cookie. Close your browser. Open your browser and log back in.

Photo

Purchase 2nd Home (convert 1st home to rental) - Advice needed

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 clemsig

clemsig
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 03:00 PM

Newbie here - searched the boards for this answer but all situations vary somewhat so any advice on my specific situation would be greatly appreciated.

I live in Florida and have a home currently that is significantly underwater. In a very desirable neighborhood however and I have low fixed interest rates so I could rent the house out and cover my payments or come pretty close. My current house does not have any Fannie/Freddie/FHA loans attached to it and I dont have any loan with these agencies period.

I have read up on FHA loans and am trying to understand a few things.

Without even including the future rental income I would receive I am lucky enough that I would be able to show two mortgage payments and be under the 29% DTI threshold. I would also be under the 41% fixed payment threshold.