Is CAPONE worth it?

Knight

I was approved for the following cards. Do creditors consider CAPITAL ONE Credit Card as a subprime card? A credit rebuilder card? 

Do you think it's worth applying for? If YES, which one of the following cards would you choose?

1. Platinum Mastercard
  2. Quicksilver for Good Credit
  3. SavorOne for Good Credit
  4. VentureOne for Good Credit

• Admin

Although I am not a creditor, I have been a credit analyst for years in my occupation.  In my opinion a Cap One credit card is not indicative of a subprime credit customer.  I always tended to look at the entire historical credit file contents to make that determination regarding the consumer.

All my venting about Capone has been because they did not grow with me, but they were pretty great with helping me rebuild, and having them helped me get other credit lines, rather than hurting.

Quicksilver's benefit is 1.5% cash back on everything; however that's the exact same benefit offered by BofA's Unlimited Cash Rewards Visa, and BofA is going to treat you better.  (Better CL growth, namely.)

What is your overall credit profile?  What are your goals?  Us credit geniuses would need that information to give you the most useful recommendations.

On 7/31/2022 at 2:34 PM, Knight said:

I was approved for the following cards. Do creditors consider CAPITAL ONE Credit Card as a subprime card? A credit rebuilder card? 

Do you think it's worth applying for? If YES, which one of the following cards would you choose?

1. Platinum Mastercard
  2. Quicksilver for Good Credit
  3. SavorOne for Good Credit
  4. VentureOne for Good Credit

Some people love CapOne and some hate them.  I, in particular, think they are pretty good.

Nobody is going to look down on you because there's a CapOne card on your credit reports.  Nobody cares ... nobody will probably even see it.  Everything is automated these days so the idea of one card looks worse than others is pretty much just a fairy tale.