Just got declined with an 800 credit score

glassjoe

I thought that I would do a pre qual with GS Marcus for a personal loan for kicks. I have a GM Mastercard and GM business MC with them that I just got within the last 2 months. CLs are $13k and $5.5K, with $0 balances respectively. I wouldn't have accepted it even if I got approved. Interesting to know that these decisions are based on more than just credit score.

RkHSm4N.png

how many accounts opened in the past 24 months? IIRC GS is as such sensitive especially with thin files.

also, what is on your SS report?

interesting it may not be a FICO score.

28 minutes ago, hegemony said:

how many accounts opened in the past 24 months? IIRC GS is as such sensitive especially with thin files.

also, what is on your SS report?

interesting it may not be a FICO score.

It's my Fico 9

mEv1x0b.png

Just finished an app spree.

Since March

Amex Plat

GS Apple Card; $10k

GS GM Card $13k

Citi Costco $10k

GS GM Business $5.5k

Cap 1 Venture $1k

September

Toyota Financial $60k vehicle loan

Been biting my tongue on this one for awhile, so it's not directed at OP:

More than ever before I'm absolutely mystified by what motivates "app sprees".

Inquiries, in the larger picture are relatively inconsequential ("relatively" is the key word); New accounts are quite consequential ... along a number of avenues).

Since I make it a rule to only open an account that has immediate benefit (beyond a SUB), along the lines of bonus cb on a frequent spend category, elevated cb on all spend for a period, a no-fee 0% bt opportunity, or the like, I can only reasonably accommodate 1 or 2 new accounts into my spend at any given time.

Further, I prefer opening an account that prompts significant immediate spend on the card, setting myself up generous CLI consideration in the short term.