Sam's Club Business Mastercard - lost a whole year's worth of reward points...

I have a Sam's Club business Mastercard and I think the personal works the same way.

They give you 3% back on restaurant purchases and 5% back on gasoline. 

Up until last year, they would send you a check once a year for the rewards that accumulated and you can bring the check into any Sam's Club and either cash it or spend it at Sam's Club.  Last year they didn't send a check but added it to your card and you could essentially do the same thing.  Bring your card into Sam's Club and get the cash or spend the rewards on merchandise.

Due to the pandemic, I chose not to go to any bricks and mortar store and I figured I would get my rewards when things calm down a bit.  I called support and they advised me the 2019's rewards had to have been redeemed by December 2020.  I told them the reason why I didn't redeem the rewards earlier and no dice.  I had over $600 rewards accumulated and it's gone. 

I also advised them that I did not get anything in the mail advising of the expiration date. (I'm sure it's in fine print on something that most people never read to cover their liability, but I never saw it.) After speaking to a supervisor who said there was nothing they can do.  I decided to sock drawer the card and use another that has similar rewards but where you don't have to wait a year and can redeem them monthly.

Just thought this may spread some light on their rewards practices to other people using the Sam's Club rewards cards.  I'm sure a decent amount of rewards go unredeemed year after year due to this practice and the fact they no longer send the rewards checks in the mail.

Edited by direct

Just a couple of questions to clarify: