Contribute to 401k while paying off debt?

I have about 7 years to retirement planning on age 68, but actually love my job wouldn't mind working till I'm 70, I'd still probably mess around with computer networking at my house. I'm a contractor to a Gov't agency.

I only have 40k saved in 401k currently due being dumb with money until recently.  Mainly have credit card debt 50k, 30% utilization, that will be paid down to under 2% utilization within 12 months.   Should I start contributing to 401k 8% which maxes  employer match?

Or just slam all my discretionary income to debt? Which is about $5000 per month.  My 401k mix has done very well with avg returns being 15% to 20 % pre covid and annual return about 5$ this year so far. Any ideas?

Edited by DebtFreeIn04

7 hours ago, DebtFreeIn04 said:

Should I start contributing to 401k 8% which maxes  employer match?

You didn't mention the rate of employer match, but if it's 25% or more (often it's 100%), there is a good chance it is higher than any interest rate you are paying.  Plus you get investment returns on top of that.  I would max out the match.

7 hours ago, DebtFreeIn04 said:

Or just slam all my discretionary income to debt?

I would divert some discretionary income to an emergency fund even while still in debt.  A lack of cushion leaves you vulnerable, especially in this crazy time.

My personal priorities would be:

1.  Build an emergency fund at a reasonable rate of progress (doesn't have to be all at once).

2.  Max out employer match.

3.  Put any remaining discretionary income toward paying down debt.

Years ago, I inverted these priorities (3, 2, 1), and it led to a BK.

3 hours ago, nemo said:

You didn't mention the rate of employer match, but if it's 25% or more (often it's 100%), there is a good chance it is higher than any interest rate you are paying.  Plus you get investment returns on top of that.  I would max out the match.