Thought I'd recap a few of the more interesting things I've seen bosses (try) to do that I thought were marginal if not unethical.

Background: I'm an electrical engineer that loves all things techie.

First one happened after I was recruited away from my first job. The company was quite small (<100 peeps) and a competitor but it was a chance to work with technology my prior company didn't want to do.  Within a month of working there the boss asked me to go on a sales trip and the goal quickly became clear was to deprecate the products my prior company was selling. I declined. Vigorously. It was never mentioned again.

Years later, when the biz was much larger and I was by then the manager of R&D, the company hired a new CEO. A few weeks into his tenure I was requested to meet with him in his office. I was surprised that he didn't want to go over anything specific but instead, he called another manager on speakerphone and started chatting. He did this while I was sitting there without mentioning I was present.  WTF?  It appeared to be some sort of "you're one of my inside guys" kind of thing. Yuck.  Later I mentioned this to a few others who said he did the same thing with them.  It got around. He left a few months later. He wasn't missed. The guy that replaced him was great to work with.

What sort of really dumb games have your bosses played?

Some C-levels love being out in the unethical fringes of business. Couple of job ago the CEO was so paranoid he had screenshot software installed on random people's computers. IT would take screenshots and put them in a database only he could access. He thought the engineers were stealing "his" designs.

Then I found out why he was so paranoid - he stole "his" designs from his previous employer. Previous employer tried to sue him for infringement but went BK before it could go to court. He ended up buying said designs and blueprints from the BK trustee at the liquidation auction.

13 hours ago, IndyPoolPlayer said: