Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

How to negotiate medical collection account

Hi,

I have a pending medical collections account that I want to settle (eventually removal from the credit report) to allow me to negotiate better mortgage rates.

Q1. I am not good with verbal negotiation. can I write it to the collections agency or ask a relative to negotiate on my behalf?

Q2. How much (%) discount should I ask for?

Q3. any tips on negotiation

Thanks

Welcome to Creditboards!

We hope that you find what you're looking for here.

Some helpful tips:

• Your post may not get a reply right away. Don't be discouraged, this is a very busy board. If it falls off of the first page, feel free to reply to your post yourself, with the word *bump* in the text. This will *bump* your post back up to the top of the board.
  • If you haven't yet, take a peek at out Newbies Section. Everything that you need to know is in that forum, for the most part. It's a lot of reading, we know, but this credit stuff can have a steep learning curve. In no time, you'll be posting like the pros!
  • If you find that someone is discourteous to you, use the REPORT button at the top right of every post - that will ensure that a moderator or admin looks at the post and decides if it is against the TOS.
  • Off -topic posts should go in the General Forum.

Again, welcome to the CreditBoards family!

CB Admin:  Pam, MarvBear, radi8, LKH & 😇breeze😇

To summarize the situation. my account has gone to the collections agency and it is now reporting to the collections agency and impacting my FICO score. I want get the account removed from the credit reporting to secure better mortgage rates.

Here are the details

• I have recently moved to the US and currently on a work visa, and I was new to the US health system