Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

Exact Date a Furnisher Can Report Tradeline 30 Days Late?

Looking for some guidance on what date a furnisher can report an account 30 days late. 

I’m a mortgage broker, and I have a client that has two 30 day lates on an installment account (auto lease). 

The furnisher, BMW financial, has reported two 30 day late payments over the past 33 months of the lease. 

The monthly payments are due on the 2nd of each month; four times over the past 33 months, the client has made their payment that was due on the 2nd of the month on the 1st of the following month. 

Out of the four late payments, two of the due dates fell in a month with 30 days, and two fell in a month with 31 days. 

I‘m aware that the two payments that fell in a month with a due date that had 31 days were made exactly on the 30th day after the due date. For mortgage servicing reporting, an account is reported 30 days late when a payment isn’t made prior to your next contractually payment due; for example, if the February 1st payment is made on March 1st, the account would be reported as 30 days late, even though 29 days have elapsed, since there are two outstanding contractually payments due. If the March 1st payment is made on March 31st, the payment would not be reported as 30 days late, since the March 1st payment was made prior to the April 1st payment being due. 

I’m trying to get the client’s score increased by 11 points so they’re eligible for a better interest rate, and I was surprised that BMW Financial reported the payments as 30 days late. 

Anyone have any insight on how these are reporting. I’ve read the FCRA, and it seems that the furnisher is within their right to report them as 30 days late. I’ve had the client try to get them removed goodwill, with no luck.