JTorrap

Furnishers Required To Confirm Contact With Borrowers Prior To Reporting?

Newbie here and really would appreciate some help with a problem I brought on myself ;(

I had a 742 FICO before my kid's student loans came out of deferment. I applied to refinance our home and abruptly learned the loans were 90+ days delinquent. I immediately paid the outstanding balance and contacted the servicer to detail what happened and ask for a one-time goodwill adjustment. Citing the FCRA, they have declined my requests repeatedly. 

MY QUESTION: Are there requirements of data furnishers to make/confirm positive contact (ie: certified mail, priority, recorded phone calls, etc) with consumers before reporting derogatory data to the CRAs? I know there are timing requirements for specific notices, but are there requirements to ensure the notices reach the borrowers? Specifically, I never received any correspondence by mail to our current address UNTIL after I called them about this mess AND after I unchecked the 'paperless billing' option in their borrower portal. We have moved twice in the past 1.5 years and they claim to have had our current address updated before this delinquency occured, but I have no way of confirming. Additionally, the 'paperless billing' option was enabled when I logged into the account for the first time. I have since disabled the option and receive monthly invoices regularly now.