Sign in to follow this  
cadman

Capital One - interest

Hi all - I have a Walmart Mastercard that I had been carrying a large balance on (yes - I know I shouldn't carry balances - but not here to discuss that). About 30 days ago, I received notice that the account was being transferred from Synchrony Bank to Capital One bank.  Had the money and decided to pay off the balance at that time - paid "current balance" online about 4 or 5 days after statement date which was 3 weeks ago. The account just transferred about 5 days ago and now Capital One says that I owe them over $100 in interest.  When I ask them how is that possible, they read from their script about daily interest.  First, they need to have their code setup so if you click to "pay current balance", it includes the interest to that point (it is not difficult to calculate it) - so it is actually the true "current" balance.  But mostly, if I paid the balance with a different bank, a few days after statement - how can I owe almost a full month of interest to the bank it only just transferred to?  Up until today, it has shown a $0 balance.  I hung up on them the last time I called as I could barely understand the broken English and kept being told that I just did not understand the way the daily interest works and to let her explain it to me.  She would not accept that I was not asking how the interest worked.  I am an Engineer - I am pretty good at math and have a spreadsheet that shows me my interest based on daily calculations.  I should owe about 4-5 days of interest max - not until they completed their conversion to Capital One 3 weeks after I paid it.  Does anyone have any good numbers / contacts there that I could reach out to and explain this and maybe even have them waive the small amount of interest that I should actually owe?  At least 2 of the 8 cards that I paid off have automatically waived the additional interest for paying a few days after the statement dates.