Wage garnishment out of state employer question

So I live in NC and was sued in NC and have a judgement against me from my local NC court. My employer is based in NJ, its a big company and we we locations around the country. I am based out of one in NC and have been since I started 10+ years ago. 

Now in NC you cannot get a wage garnishment for anything but taxes and child support. However in NJ you can for CC debt which is what the judgement is for. My understanding is that since I am a resident of NC they cannot ask NJ to wage garnish unless I am a resident of NJ which I am not nor have ever been and they cannot sue me in NJ since I am not a resident there either. 

Am I correct on this?

I don't think so, I seem to remember that if an employee's paycheck is generated in another state it can be garnished in that state and the money sent to the creditor. Read your statutes concerning garnishment, it should be explained therein.

A situation as you suggest would leave a creditor with no recourse whatsoever to collect a debt. That is not the intent of the legislature.

North Carolina does not allow for wage garnishment (outside taxes, child support). That is where I live and that is there the lawsuit was and the judgement ordered. Wouldn't the collection agency have to follow NC law? I already did the exclusions thing and the sheriff called me. Basically told me he did not see any assets and they don't do wage garnish either, but they could go after bank accounts if they know where they are. 

So I am not trying to avoid these forever but I need to wait until 2021 to resolve them. In about 20 months I should be able to settle whatever judgments I have then. Hopefully for 50% or so. 

20 hours ago, Klesko said:

So I live in NC and was sued in NC and have a judgement against me from my local NC court. My employer is based in NJ, its a big company and we we locations around the country. I am based out of one in NC and have been since I started 10+ years ago.