Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

New Card Arrived, Charge?

So an Amex Gold arrived in the mail today.  This is my first time having a charge card. How does it work?

I’ve read that you don't carry a balance etc.  But how does it work in terms of due dates, and statement dates, statement balance etc.?  Is it like if I were to use one of my normal cards that I pay in full each time? 

And should I be concerned about what my first purchase should be?

I think all that first purchase stuff is overrated, IMO.

A charge card functions like a credit card, the only difference is that the entire statement balance is due by the due date rather than some minimum payment like 1-2%.  You'll get a statement after ~30 days and the balance will be due ~25 days from the statement date.  Amex does allow a pay over time feature on some of their charge card products, but it isn't something I would use due to the high interest rate. 

Thanks. This is the first time I’ve had a card of this caliber and wanted to make sure I treated it right from the get go. 

Is it true that these things don’t have a limit? I really hate that feeling when your card comes back, only to find out your bank has an itchy trigger finger. 

congrats on the new card!

amex does set a spending limit (you can check on your online account what your purchasing power is).

Congrats on the new card. 

AMEX charge cards don’t have a credit limit that gets reported to the CRAs. All that’s reported to the CRAs is your balance when a statement is generated. But as hege mentioned, you have purchasing power.