helpmeout

Should I just pay off under toyota or refinance?

Posted (edited)

So as you know me I have a car with a 28k note. I know very stupid of me but my car note is down to 5.9k and I have had the loan for 3 yrs and one month. I had original done a 7 yr finance and that was because if I ever needed some breathing room but I pay my car note in advance. Now my question is should I refinance to a 24 month loan?I have less then 10 months left if I keep paying the 600 or 9 months if I keep paying the 700 that I have been paying for the pass 2 months. My original car note is $450 a month but I dont want to pay what there asking me because I don't want to keep the loan forever. I am proud of myself for not rolling into another car note because I learned my less after 4 car notes. The only reason I ask is because I believe I saw an ad that says if I refinance with my NFCU that I can get $200 after like a month or 2 of payments and I could just put that $200 for the car to speed up the process even faster because I really want my car note done and done. I cant wait for the 10 or 9 months left. I am excited to get the car in my name and no more payments on it and I am only 24. No one has supported me and I been on my own so don't be saying anything like I been getting helped.

Edited by helpmeout

The key number is the APR.  Don't refinance anything unless it's a lower APR.

2 hours ago, hegemony said:

with that little time left I would just pay off the current note.

Yeah, thats what I been thinking to but that $200 is enticing. I just have 5.9k left can you believe that after I paid of 22.1k so far... Thats a lot of money that I could have used for anything else. 😪 Life lessons learned.