Sign in to follow this  
AlabamaSteve

My Credit Journey...rebuilding (again)

So, to start this off I was a member back in the mid to late 2000's, and learned a lot about how credit worked. Growing up I watched my parents struggle with debt, and lack of control for their spending habits. When I graduated college in 2008, I was working 2 jobs, and making a decent amount of money. I wanted to pay off the roughly 16k worth of debt I had from school, in less than 2 years. I was actually able to accomplish this. During this time I was also dumb, and acquired a crap ton of credit card debt. Roughly 40 grand worth. Clearly not learning anything from here the first time, I just kept chugging along making my payments, until the inevitable happened. I was laid off from my job, and had a non-compete. Thinking "those don't hold up in court", I took a job with a competitor, and promptly got sued by my prior employer. Trying to fight this, I spend nearly 14,000.00 in lawyer's fees and costs, to eventually run out of money to fight it. I lost everything. My house, car, thank god I wasn't married yet. But at that point I was over 100,000.00 in debt with Credit cards, defaulted auto loan, and the balance due on my foreclosed home. 

In March of 2015 I would up filing for Bankruptcy. Not seeing a way out of the hole I had put myself in (which I blame no one but myself), I bit the bullet. Came out of my Chapter 7 the end of 2015, thinking "ok I got this". Cue forward 4 years. I was an idiot again. Now 40 grand in debt again, primarily all credit card debt (some very small medical collections), I have had enough. I don't like to reference Dave Ramsey that much, but I am sick and tired, of being sick and tired. So here's a quick run down of what I have accomplished so far, and what I still need to get cleaned up. 

Current Scores (FICO 8) 

Transunion - 513

Equifax - 497

Experian - 585

Equifax