Sign in to follow this  
TiffanySa

Card recommendations

Hello,

I'm a recent college grad and looking to boost my credit. Currently have an account with Discover IT, CL @ 6600 (they increased my limit 5000 4mos ago) and a credit union Master Card @ 500. According to the Discover FICO8 Scorecard, I'm currently 798.  What additional credit cards or steps would you recommend to boost credit limit?

Open a couple more carefully-chosen cards from prime issuers.  

What is your intended use for the additional credit?

You should look at how you will use the cards, and what rewards are important to you, Travel?  Cash Back?  Others?  Look for prime issuers that have the benefits you desir and will use.  Chase, Citi and Amex have pre-approval sites where you can see if you are pre-approved for a card without a hard inquiry just for looking to see if you are pre-approved.

6 hours ago, cv91915 said:

Open a couple more carefully-chosen cards from prime issuers.  

What is your intended use for the additional credit?

Ok, so ideally I'd love to build up credit to buy real estate in the next two years. I'm looking at the Chase Freedom.

a chase UR card may be in order before anything else to avoid wanting one once you're 5/24.

also, are you opted in?

and :welcome:

3 hours ago, Glacier said:

You should look at how you will use the cards, and what rewards are important to you, Travel?  Cash Back?  Others?  Look for prime issuers that have the benefits you desir and will use.  Chase, Citi and Amex have pre-approval sites where you can see if you are pre-approved for a card without a hard inquiry just for looking to see if you are pre-approved.

Ohhhh ok! Cash back would be nice

26 minutes ago, hegemony said:

a chase UR card may be in order before anything else to avoid wanting one once you're 5/24.

also, are you opted in?

and :welcome:

Good call, I'll look into that one.