Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

VA mortgage question

As an Army veteran, my husband qualifies for a VA loan.  We have an option to purchase the home we are currently renting.  We feel that the owner is going to list the house for sale if we don't get a mortgage going pretty quickly. We have improved my husband's credit scores from a 505 in December 2017 to a 609 this month.  Is there a broker or company that will work with this credit score?  Gross income is about $11,000 per month. Is there any difference as far as assistance in qualifying (rapid re score or tools like that to help us qualify) between internet and face to face applications? Thanks for any constructive input from this group, we appreciate it.

Edited by Jmdorozco
added info

Rapid rescore generates a new FICO score after something has changed since the last report that was pulled and scored (for example, you pay a collection or make a large credit card payment), but before the data furnisher has reported the change to the bureau(s).  

Depending in the change(s), rapid rescore may result in a higher or a lower score, and potentially no change at all.  

That's all it is.

What is weighing down the scores (and where did you get the scores?)?

Hi Jmdorozco,

Yes there are lenders that will work with your scores & even some who will help you raise your scores with a rapid re-score to improve your rate & your chances of getting approved once your file hits underwriting.

A lot of lenders will not provide rapid re-scoring services because it costs $40+ per account, per credit bureau & they can't charge the consumer for it.