Sign in to follow this  
blqbutterfly

HELOC or HE Loan

I have owned my home for 15 years -- HARP program done in 2011 - current interest rate is 2% for balance of loan (2035) current balance is $281k. Value today is $435k roughly. All I want is a HELOC or Home Equity Loan to pay off all my unsecured debt of $87k (I know long story). The problem I'm having is my debt to income ratio is high (54%), which in turn is affecting my credit scores.

Current Fico 08 scores

TU 623; EQ 584; EX 605

How can I qualify for one of these to fix this debt to income ratio problem and close or at least sock drawer these cards (Preferably close).

Oh my income is $80k gross and I do a few side hustles here and there. I am a Realtor but not really getting much business at this time.

Please advise if what I'm trying to do is possible.

PS I do not want to do a refinance because of the 2% interest rate on the first.

Thanks for any advise you might have.

Your revolving utilization may be what's hurting your scores, but DTI has nothing to do with it. Income isn't a factor in FICO scores.

Scores in the 600 range would indicate other negatives reporting which may present other financing obstacles.

Regardless, the very last few things I would do to extinguish $87,000 in credit card debt are, in no particular order, bankruptcy, 401(k) loan, and risking my home by pledging it as security against debt that is currently unsecured.

How long would it take you to pay this off using money leftover after non-negotiable expenses?

Thanks so much for your response. I would love help with a plan to do this. I will be working seasonal for the holidays part time. My take home is $4760 per month.

My monthly expenses are:

Mortgage $1886.42

Car Lease $753 (this is bad I don't know how to get out of this lease its been one year)

Utilities: $275 -phone internet cable and power water

Groceries $80 a month (need to stop eating out altogether)

Car Insurance: $156

Verizon - $91

loan - $137