Sign in to follow this  
Cattleya

Cleaning up Med Collections - SOL and HIPPA Process

Hello - I am back after several years with some med collections and I have some questions on the process.

First, do I need to worry about SOL? If the services were delivered in State A (NY - been 3 years since I've been a resident) and I now reside permanently in State B (PA), who's SOL would apply?

Now to the Accounts:

I have opted out and old addresses are deleted. I don't have copies of the EOBs but do have a summary statement of benefits for the calendar year the services were provided in. While I proceed with the next steps in the HIPPA process, should I go ahead and request copies of the EOBs?

I have sent the WhyChat's initial dispute letter to the CRAs for between 9 and 10 medical collection accounts. The results are as follows:

EQ - 10 medical collection accounts disputed - all 10 came back as "We verified this item belongs to you."

EX - 10 medical collection accounts disputed - 7 removed; 3 came back as "This item was not changed as a result of our processing of your dispute...."

TU - 9 medical collection accounts disputed - 7 removed; 2 came back as "Verified As Accurate"

I haven't received any communication at all from the CAs and want to confirm my next steps:

• I should send the Medical DV letter to the CAs - a letter for each CRA report the CA continues to be listed on; for TU & EX and 8 of the EQ accounts, the CA is the same for the remaining accounts, do I just list the account numbers in series in the "RE:" line?
  • These letters should be sent via PM with tracking.
  • Once I have confirmation the letters were delivered, I should send the CRA's the follow up Dispute letter via PM w/ tracking. I should include all the accounts in each letter to the CRA, correct?

Thanks in advance for the guidance!