Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

Newbie here looking for a start in the right direction...

The last post in this topic was posted 1743 days ago. 

We strongly encourage you to start a new post instead of replying to this one.

Hello ther CB, I'm new to this community and very glad to have found you guys! Little bit about myself, I just turned 26 and have never had any credit or loan before ever. I've been doing a bit of research through Reddit of /personalfinance and that's how I stumbled across this site.

Ok so let's get down to business, I would like to purchase a house within the next 1-2 years, I know credit is a must for someone in my financial situation. Less then a month ago I received my first secured credit card through US Bank. I deposited 300, therefore that is my credit limit. I called and set up my card payments due date for the 22nd of every month. I also read, that ideally my card should be 10%(no more the 30%) utilized and to pay it off in full every month. This won't be an issue for me. I was curious if I have more utilized on my card and pay but pay a portion before my bill arrives, if I risk the chance of credit a high credit utilization being reported to the credit bureau.

One more thing, I was also curious if there was a guideline or map (for lack of a better word) of things to do to make my credit score rise the quickest way. I've read conflicting things such as applying/opening new lines of credit quickly or close in date will look bad and reflect so in my FICO score. Because I have no established credit these new lines of credit would of course be secured card options which I don't mind, since I plan on using them as debit cards and not purchasing things I can't afford. On the other hand I heard that it's impossible to raise my score quickly with only one line of credit.