Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

Prime vs Subprime Lenders

The last post in this topic was posted 1803 days ago. 

We strongly encourage you to start a new post instead of replying to this one.

Hey folks,

I've searched around the forums, but haven't been able to identify a solid list of who are considered prime lenders when it comes to credit cards. Based on information gathered from the threads, I'd assume they are Bank of America, Chase and Citi. Am I missing any? Are these even correct?

Thanks!

I'm no expert but i thought it was the borrower and therefore the loan that was sub prime not necessarily the lender.

I'm no expert but i thought it was the borrower and therefore the loan that was sub prime not necessarily the lender.

Hmm. It very well could be that I simply don't understand the concept.

Any expert clarification would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

There is no official list. It's sort of in the eye of the beholder. It can be a confusing thing because some posters use "subprime" when referring to any bank they think done them wrong. What many people are referring to with that terminology are financial institutions that focus on lending to the subprime market segment. A bank such as First Premier is what I would give as an example. The financial institutions that focus on those with less than perfect credit and tend to offer low limits and high fees. Then there are some banks that lend to the subprime market yet also lend to the prime market. CapOne is an example of a bank that made their name as a lender to the subprime market but now they also issue cards that require good scores to be approved.