Sign in to follow this  
stuckincustoms

KickStarter Campaign with Past Judgements? What to do? Bankruptcy or Incorporate?

I am starting a KickStarter campaign to fund an art project. (I am an artist). I have credit card judgments as a result of prolonged unemployment, also one judgment from a past eviction. When my high paying corporate job went bad, and I couldnt find any work, I decided to pursue my passion in art.

Assuming my project is fully funded for $10,000.00 and that money gets wired into my account, is it at risk for seizure from my credit card judgements? That would be a problem, since the backers of the KickStarter are expecting original pieces of work in return for a contribution. I know there is a bankruptcy in my future, but I wasn't planning on doing it now. Would the courts allow the creditor to seize these funds? Should I incorporate, or bank out of state? I know I can file Ch 7. But My income is so low and my assets are so little, I'm basically judgement proof. Also, in addition to credit card debt, I have about $150,000.00 in student loan debt (not in default, in forbearance). I also owe the IRS about 5K (when I lost my job last year I had to live off my 401K so thats where the tax debt comes from) So filing bankruptcy wouldn't get rid of the student loan debt and taxes (not at this point of time anyway)

I'm in NY so the first $1750.00 in any checking account is exempt from seizure.

I have read about people using out of state banks to avoid creditor seizures. Of course a judgement debtor exam would reveal those accounts and render them worthless. Can anyone make any recommendations?

If you are expecting to file for BK at some point it would be worth doing before you suddenly have 10k show up in an account since the monies are for art production.

However, if you have the ability to bring that kind of money in via kickstarter why not make an actual business of it and just pay the debt?