Please consider disabling your adblocker for CreditBoards if you have not already done so.  This site depends on advertising revenue to stay online.

Sign in to follow this  

USAA AmEx and NFCU Visa usage / balance reporting methods... Advice?

The last post in this topic was posted 2423 days ago. 

We strongly encourage you to start a new post instead of replying to this one.

I'm pretty new to the credit card game, so bear with me please....

I have a new USAA AmEx (5k limit) and USAA World MC (6k), as well as a new NFCU Visa Sig card (17.5k). All of these are currently in their first billing period - no statements have cut yet.

I've been using the AmEx as a daily driver - groceries and gas (2x points) as well as daily dining out, and then every 3 or 4 days transferring enough funds into my USAA checking acct to cover the balance. When the time comes to pay it I'll use the transferred funds to PIF. I understand that AmEx is big on PIF and heavy use, and I want to look good for a CLI in 61 days.

The Visa has the highest limit and I plan to use it for "large" purchases (tires, emergencies, etc) that I might prefer to spread over 2 pay checks to avoid overextending cashflow. It'll occasionally mis a PIF by a half amount depending on timing (statement cuts the day I get paid or similar, I'll pay at least half of any major purchase per paycheck) - but I gave myself a ceiling of $1500 on balance so even if it does report it's sub 10% with some cushion, and it's one of the 1-2 cards I'll have to let report anyhow.

The World MC is really only for use if I'm resting the AmEx or Visa for a few days prior to statements cutting for balance reporting purposes, such as to keep a pending charge from reporting unexpectedly. I'll pay it off as soon as charges post as I don't really care about CLIs so much on it - if I can get them great but if they disapprove of multiple payments or light use it's really just a filler card for me and the current 6k is more than adequate.