How to Dispute Re-Aged Private Student Loans?

haytertots2004

The last post in this topic was posted 3705 days ago. 

We strongly encourage you to start a new post instead of replying to this one.

Hello,

I have a big problem I hope someone can help me with.

When I was in college I took out 2 private institutional loans through my university, one in 1997 for $1000 and one in 2000 for $7000. I graduated in 2002, and immediately consolidated all my federally-subsidized loans. I have been paying on them ever since, and have never missed a payment. However, I moved around a lot after graduation, and didn't learn until a year later that the two private student loans were not included in the consolidation ( I've since looked at my promisory notes, and there is no federal guarantee on these loans. I also checked with the National Student Loan Database, and they are not listed in my file of federal student loans). By the time I found out, the university had turned them over to a collection agency, which doubled the balance owed and would not make payment arrangements. I was stuck. The negative reporting sat on my credit report from 5/2003-5/2010, at which point it fell off all my credit reports. I have three old hardcopies of my credit report. In the old reports, the loans are reported as follows:

XXXX University

Acct # XXXXXX

Date Opened: 5/2000

Date of Status: 12/2004

Date Reported: 12/2004

Last Reported: 12/2008

Type: Installment

Terms: 120 months

Monthly Payment: N/A

Responsibility: Individual

Credit Limit: $2165

Recent Balance: $4499 as of 12/08

Collection Account as of 5/2005

This account is scheduled to continue on record until May, 2010

Fast forward several yeats. In April, 2013, the student loans appeared on my credit report as a "charge-off, 0 balance, date of charge-off 3/12/12". This just dropped my fico score from 720 to 612 overnight! The new reporting is as follows:

xxxx University

Acct #xxxxxxx

Date Opened: 5/2000

Type: Installment