Sign in to follow this  
Male Nurse

Social Security Administration????

Just checked backdoor on my Experian and saw that the Social Security Administration did a soft pull of my report in May of this year... WHY? Why would they need to look at my credit?

That's pretty strange? Even if you filed for disability or some thing it wouldn't seem a big enough reason for them to be interested in your credit. Let us know when you find something out about the Soft pull.

Do you owe them anything? My dad died when I was 9 years old and I received Social Security checks until I graduated from high school. However, my mom was the one who took and cashed those checks. I found out one of the last checks she double cashed a check (told the SS a check never arrived and cashed both checks). I am not responsible for that debt )no matter how much I argue with them). They actually reported on my credit report about 2 years ago.

M

The pull shows:

"Social Security Administration"

It's a soft pull though. I'm only 32 and work full-time. Have never considered retiring or filing disability. I don't and can't owe them any money. Where do they get off checking my credit? How can I contact them to find out what for? Would fraud alerts on my reports maybe initiate it? Lost on what could be the issue.

When you setup a "My Social Security" account, they do an Experian soft pull as part of the identity verification process.

A common reason to make the account was to look at your statement online (used to come in the mail). It can also happen if you create an account to request a replacement social security card or something like that. (Did you get a new job and couldn't find your card to present to HR, etc?)

Usually you would have done this yourself online, but sometimes they enroll you as part of something you're doing at a local office.

When you setup a "My Social Security" account, they do an Experian soft pull as part of the identity verification process.