Does making late payments on Electric Bill impact credit?

The last post in this topic was posted 4621 days ago. 

We strongly encourage you to start a new post instead of replying to this one.

I am a student and I have a roommate and the power bill is in my name and she has been making late payments lately and it is really worrying me...I plan to move by myself in February and I want to know will her making late payments have an impact on my credit or my future service with the Electric company?

I am a student and I have a roommate and the power bill is in my name and she has been making late payments lately and it is really worrying me...I plan to move by myself in February and I want to know will her making late payments have an impact on my credit or my future service with the Electric company?

I have NEVER (in 30+ years) had a "UTILITY" report

"IF" one showed up...I would dispute it (but that is me)

Some people would love to have 10 or 20 extra positive accounts

I HAVE NO USE FOR 10 or 20 (or MORE) ACCOUNTS

THAT HAVE A "CREDIT LIMIT/HIGH BALANCE" OF LESS THAN $200

(even if they are all positive)

Edited by GEORGE

You should try to takeover that account ASAP or transfer it into their name. It will probably only report if it gets charged off. Make sure you get something in writing from the utility that it is paid in full when you transfer it, because a balance left owing of a few cents could get charged off.

My utility company ( National Grid ) did report me to equifax and almost a year after still report as closed account.When they first reported it was described as a net30 term account under collections.After many disputes and good wills they never budged,i pif and closed.The tradeline still reports everymonth but after many disputes i managed to get it reportas a positive closed tradeline.