Sign in to follow this  
upalom00

Bank 1 card raised APR from 14.24 to 24.74, how can I lower?

My basic question...how should I proceed in requesting my Credit Card company, Bank 1, to reduce my APR back to my original agreement or less? Will this involve a hard pull? What can I do before I put in such a request for a lower APR that will help me? My ultimate goal is debt reduction and this change to higher interest is not helping.

Okay....I am still a noob at this but doing lots of reading / research.

In January Bank 1 sent a letter saying that my account was going to increase my APR from 14.24 to 24.74. Of course at the time I did not really read this letter and just filed it away only to open up my statement today to the bad news. I have read the letter now however.

I called Bank 1 and asked "why the increase in APR". They referred me to a CRA, Experian, and a phone #. Just now I went to Experian's website and paid for a report and score. There isn't anything really negative or inaccurate on this report. The only inaccurate information they had was my Age (off by a year), and my current employer. Other than that, I have paid all my statements on time, never late, in the past two years according to the report. Also, Experian is only reporting 4 inquiries, the most recent one being last year: Feb 2003.

So, a bit of further background ...

Last year around Sept/Oct, I had another Bank 1 card with 1k limit. Same sort of thing happened, APR went up, I got upset and closed the account. Now, looking back, I realized I probably should have left it opened. That card is now paid off in full as of the last billing statement.

This current Bank 1 card, I have a 5k limit on it, with 4.7k balance. I have been paying the minimum balance on this card due to the fact that I have been trying to reduce debt and paying a higher interest store charge card.