Sign in to follow this  
learning the hard way

2 year mark

We filed bk7 mar 04; it was discharged june 04. When should we talk to a broker to do an FHA loan. I know it has to be two years post discharge, but can we get approved before then, and then close after june 8? I want to get a house as soon as possible.

I also changed jobs last year, I am still a welder which I have been for the past seven years. DW has had the same job for 9 years. Our mid score was 640 two months ago. Bill

tia

Billy

Isn't the wait just terrible!!!! I guess that's one of the consequences of filing. DH and I will be hitting our 2-yr post discharge July 27th and I can't wait!!!!!! I would like to be out of our apt July 28th!

I was told that we could not get preapproval until after our discharge date. We are looking to go FHA too.

We filed bk7 mar 04; it was discharged june 04. When should we talk to a broker to do an FHA loan. I know it has to be two years post discharge, but can we get approved before then, and then close after june 8? I want to get a house as soon as possible.

I also changed jobs last year, I am still a welder which I have been for the past seven years. DW has had the same job for 9 years. Our mid score was 640 two months ago. Bill

tia

Billy

You can apply before the 2 year anniversary, but the systems that lenders use to approve loans for FHA (DU and LP) will continue to "refer" (nice way to say turn down) the loan until it meets the FHA guidelines....such as 2 years after discharged BK. If you get all your docs into your Broker/Lender in the meantime, it will expedite the process on the other end, but you do run the risk that, even after the 4th, you do not get approved. Based on the info you provided above it doesn't look like that wil be the case, but you never know.