Sign in to follow this  
MarvBear

Gross Monthly Income

Again, please pretend I am an absolute Newbie here.

I am not interested in Household Income or Total Household Income.

Can someone explain in clear and concise laymen terms what would be considered as "GROSS MONTHLY INCOME" for an individual completing a credit application.

Your responses would be appreciated

ok newbie.

gross monthly income is your total income BEFORE ANY deductions for taxes 401k SS etc.

if you dont get paid bimonthly or monthly the easiest way to figure it out is

biweekly payroll

wage x 26 / 12 = gross monthly income

weekly

wage x 52 / 12 = gross monthly income

this is for base pay

bonuses, commissions shift dif are on top.

Can someone explain in clear and concise laymen terms what would be considered as "GROSS MONTHLY INCOME" for an individual completing a credit application.

If I make 19.00 an hour, and work 40 hours a week, 40x19.00=760.00 a week.

760.00 x 4 (weeks in a month)= 3040.00 Monthly Gross Income, Thats What I make in 4 weeks or 1 month.

If I make 19.00 an hour, and work 40 hours a week, 40x19.00=760.00 a week.

760.00 x 4 (weeks in a month)= 3040.00 Monthly Gross Income, Thats What I make in 4 weeks or 1 month.

wrong..

760 x 52 / 12 = 3293.333333 a month.

My middle name is neither Visa nor Mastercard, but for me, the meaning of "gross monthly income" for an individual completing a credit app would be:

The first number on your paycheck stub (Gross Wages)

plus

Cash tips or commissions if any (average of past year, if monthly)

plus

Child support or alimony if you have an order and you receive it on a regular basis, and if you desire to include it

plus

Gross rents, if you own rental property

plus...

(You get the idea.)

I would not (personally) include:

Gifts from parents, even if they arrive fairly frequently

A bonus, unless you can count on getting it every year

Roommate's income

Income from sales of illegal drugs or other contraband :-)