Please use the Feedback forum for questions about the upgrade.  We will get to them as quickly as possible.

Sign in to follow this  
MarvBear

Overall Revolving Utilization

I asked this one time before, but in order to clarify........

Pretend I am a total NEWBIE.

I do NOT care about FICO scores.

I do not care about individual utilization on any one credit card and its affect on a score nor the consequences of running up only one card to the max.

ONLY THE SUBJECT MATTER.

Can someone clearly and concisely explain the concept of TOTAL OVERALL REVOLVING UTILIZATION in very simple layman terms that a NEWBIE the first time reading would emphatically understand with an example as a guide?

Working on a project and I would appreciate the board members input.

Simple to explain: Add up the balances on all revolving accounts, and divide by the total of the credit limits on the accounts.

Why do banks care? Someone with high utilization is considered a worse credit risk because that person seems to have the tendency to max all the credit they can get rather than thinking about if they will ever be able to repay.

Practical shortcomings: Many. First look at the basic assumption. Consumers with previous bad credit or limited credit history qualify only for small amounts of revolving credit. If they don't know how the system works, they may use it to the limit, because they know they can easily repay. On the other hand, banks give impossibly high limits to those with good credit, and if those are highly utilized it certainly indicates trouble later. But the limits are so high though, that someone who has applied for numerous accounts and credit line increases may be in real trouble at 25% utilization.

A particular credit card company, Capital One, has decided to throw a monkeywrench into the whole system by not reporting the credit limit on their accounts. This gives them a competetive advantage because they can know a consumer's true utilization but others won't.