Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dunning letter received
CreditBoards > Creditboards Main Forums > Medical Billing & Medical Collections
GoinDeep
WhyChat and other HIPAA experts:

I just got a dunning letter from a Law Firm in Colorado (MJ Hecker & ASSociates) who claim they purchased a debt from an OC. These accounts are NOT listed on any of my credit reports yet. This is the first I have heard of this debt.

Which HIPAA letters do I need to send, and to whom? Do I need to send a DV? I have the funds on hand to pay the original OC if the debt is legit. I went to the ER twice last year, so this could be from one of those visits.

Here is a scan of the letter, and at the bottom is a scan of the account info they sent with the letter. Notice there is no date printed anywhere in the letter.




TIA for any help.
GoinDeep
^
Why Chat
Opt out
http://whychat.5u.com/OPTOUTINST.HTML
Check your reports very carefully for INQUIRIES and/or strange addresses etc.

Send this CA/JDB this;

http://whychat.5u.com/ltrcavalhipaa.html

I doubt VERY MUCH that this is yours, as a bill from a health care provider for an account that is that new would not be assigned to a scam scum outfit like NCO.

If you had insurance, get your EOMB's from your insurance Co. to see what was paid for your ER visits.

If you had NO insurance, check your records to see if you were billed.
GoinDeep
Will do, thanks WhyChat.

Ive already opted out and had a bunch of names/addresses deleted from all 3 reports.

Ive looked through all of my EMOBs, and dont see the amounts they are asking for, but am not sure of the date of service for the accounts so I cant be sure which visit they would be trying to collect for.

Also, NCO did a soft pull on my TU report in October, but I figured that was because I disputed a bunch of collections and got them removed. There are no suspicious or strange inquiries on my EX or EQ.

Thanks for the help.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.