Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Medical Collection
CreditBoards > Creditboards Main Forums > Medical Billing & Medical Collections
whatsanenigma
I just got a letter from a new collection agency today. It's only for six dollars, but I have no idea who the medical provider listed is-and the name they have listed is so cryptic, I have no idea how to trace who it is. It might be something I actually owe, but I have no idea. I also have never gotten a bill for exactly six dollars from any medical provider, ever, so I don't know how old the bill is or if it's within SOL.

Luckily, it's not on any of my credit reports yet. I have read WhyChat's pages over and over, and if it was on a credit report, I know I would start with the Pre-HIPAA letter. But because it hasn't made it to a credit report yet, should I start by sending the CA the first letter on this page?

http://whychat.5u.com/ltrcavalhipaa.html

(The letter labeled "COLLECTION AGENCY VALIDATION/DISPUTE/CEASE AND DESIST
Use this IN IT'S ENTIRETY. DO NOT call them . ")

This is what seems logical to me after going over WhyChat's information, but I want to make sure I'm understanding this right and not missing anything.

Thanks for any and all help!



Why Chat
QUOTE (whatsanenigma @ Sep 22 2008, 10:34 PM) *
I just got a letter from a new collection agency today. It's only for six dollars, but I have no idea who the medical provider listed is-and the name they have listed is so cryptic, I have no idea how to trace who it is. It might be something I actually owe, but I have no idea. I also have never gotten a bill for exactly six dollars from any medical provider, ever, so I don't know how old the bill is or if it's within SOL.

Luckily, it's not on any of my credit reports yet. I have read WhyChat's pages over and over, and if it was on a credit report, I know I would start with the Pre-HIPAA letter. But because it hasn't made it to a credit report yet, should I start by sending the CA the first letter on this page?

http://whychat.5u.com/ltrcavalhipaa.html

(The letter labeled "COLLECTION AGENCY VALIDATION/DISPUTE/CEASE AND DESIST
Use this IN IT'S ENTIRETY. DO NOT call them . ")

This is what seems logical to me after going over WhyChat's information, but I want to make sure I'm understanding this right and not missing anything.

Thanks for any and all help!

Yes, that is what you send them, include a copy of the letter you received, you may note that I provided the choice of headings, you would, of course select the first one;
QUOTE
This letter is being sent to you in response to your attached letter.
If you have nothing in writing use the phrase "recent communication, if you have had NO communication other than the entry on your report, use this:
"This letter is being sent to you in response to your recent fraudulent verification of an unknown medical account on my (name of CRA) report"
whatsanenigma
Great, thanks for your help! I'll do that today.
whatsanenigma
Update!

I got a letter from the CA today that says they are no longer collecting on the debt and they are turning it back over to the original creditor.

Does this mean I am in the clear regarding the CA? I might get a bill now from the OC, of course, but what are odds that I will? Does anybody have any ideas?
Sourgirl32
They sent it to a CA for 6 BUCKS! OMG. What jerks,hey? I'd say find out who the original creditor is and sent them the $6. IMO...I wouldn't return to that provider smile.gif
Why Chat
QUOTE (whatsanenigma @ Oct 12 2008, 10:37 PM) *
Update!

I got a letter from the CA today that says they are no longer collecting on the debt and they are turning it back over to the original creditor.

Does this mean I am in the clear regarding the CA? I might get a bill now from the OC, of course, but what are odds that I will? Does anybody have any ideas?

If it was a legitimate bill from a legitimate OC they would have told you the name and address of the OC, this was a scam.
Make sure you keep copies of ALL your correspondence to and from them just in case they or someone like them pops up again.

Are you opted out??
http://whychat.5u.com/OPTOUTINST.HTML
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.