Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: anyone ever heard of this?
CreditBoards > Financing > Student Loans
yellorose
I have a friend who's defaulted on an SL ~1500. he can pay it back now, as he has a job now. I advised him to begin the rehab process. someone called him up from the department of education and suggested he pay it back $20 per month via the above website. I looked at the site and it just does not look legit to me.

I've made so many many mistakes with my own student loans, I just wanted to help someone else avoid the same.

does the department of ed call you up out of the blue? the rep who called him did have the correct total amount he owes.

looking at his CR, it looks like this:

a loan from direct loan service system in the amount of $1545. - is this a private loan?
US dept of ed: $1272
US dept of ed: 279

his goal obvs is to clean up the CR and to get back into school asap. if this iwillpay site is legit, then he could pay through them, I just wondered if there wasnt a better way?

I should say that he doesnt have a bank account, so maybe that's why the rep suggested the iwillpay site.

ideas? please. and thanks.
LynnInMN
QUOTE(yellorose @ May 19 2008, 07:31 AM) *
I have a friend who's defaulted on an SL ~1500. he can pay it back now, as he has a job now. I advised him to begin the rehab process. someone called him up from the department of education and suggested he pay it back $20 per month via the above website. I looked at the site and it just does not look legit to me.

As a general rule, $50 per month is the minimum montly rehab payment.

I've made so many many mistakes with my own student loans, I just wanted to help someone else avoid the same.

does the department of ed call you up out of the blue? the rep who called him did have the correct total amount he owes.

All the time.

looking at his CR, it looks like this:

a loan from direct loan service system in the amount of $1545. - is this a private loan?
US dept of ed: $1272
US dept of ed: 279

No, US Dept of Ed is a Federal loan.


his goal obvs is to clean up the CR and to get back into school asap. if this iwillpay site is legit, then he could pay through them, I just wondered if there wasnt a better way?

I should say that he doesnt have a bank account, so maybe that's why the rep suggested the iwillpay site.

I am not getting any site by this name.

ideas? please. and thanks.

yellorose
i will pay dot com

I know US Dept of ed is a federal loan, I was asking if direct loan service system could be private. doesnt matter.

I take it you think the iwillpay site is not a scam, then.

many thanks. I've linked to it above.
LynnInMN
QUOTE(yellorose @ May 19 2008, 09:05 AM) *
i will pay dot com

I know US Dept of ed is a federal loan, I was asking if direct loan service system could be private. doesnt matter.

Direct Loans is the lending program set up directly by the USDOE. Definately not private.

I take it you think the iwillpay site is not a scam, then.

I think is IS a scam. I am not pulling up any legimate site.


many thanks. I've linked to it above.
Saria
You might be thinking of www.1800iwillpay.com, which is a legitimate DOE site.
yellorose
hmmm. I did get a site but I thought it looked shady. but friend said it was suggested by the person who called him from department of ed. also the $20 payments. I suspect he was speaking to a collection agency and just didnt know it.

it would be far better to just send in a money order, I think. I think he should call department of ed and arrange to send the payment directly to them. or find out who is collecting on their behalf.

I think a second phone call is necessary to deal with direct loan servicing.

not sure how to get the proper info.

breeze
Sorry, that is not a liegitimate SL payment site, it is a search page, showing links to more search pages. I'm going to edit the link, we don't want people using it by mistake, and signing up with something that turns out not to be the correct site. I believe Lynn has the correct payment site. Perhaps your friend didn't hear the 1800 part of the name?
breeze
he real 1800iwillpay.com forwards to the dept of ed. at this site http://www.ed.gov/offices/OSFAP/DCS/index.html


yellorose
beautiful! THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!!! will get it taken care of.

thanks again.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.